The Sistine Chapel

Italian version
Tha Vatican Museums
Founded by Pope Julius II in 1506 and opened to the public in 1771 by Pope Clement XIV, the Vatican Museums are a monument to world culture.
Visited every year by about 6 million people from all over the world, the Vatican Museums are a collection of museums and galleries that contain one of the most beautiful art collections on the planet.

The visiting rooms of the Vatican Museums are:
  • the Vatican Pinacoteca
  • the Pio-Clementino Museum
  • the Egyptian Museum, which houses a vast collection of finds from ancient Egypt including papyrus, mummies and the famous Book of the Dead
  • the Etruscan Museum, which contains works that were discovered at the beginning of the 1800s with archaeological excavations in the cities of Etruria that at the time were part of the Papal States.
  • Philatelic and Numismatic Museum, which, inaugurated on September 25th 2007, collects all the stamps and coins of the Vatican City, from the moment of its birth (1929) to today
  • the Carriage Pavilion
  • the Gallery of Tapestries
  • the Gallery of Maps, located along the route that leads to the Sistine Chapel, is an exceptional cartographic representation of the regions of Italy, built between 1580 and 1585
  • the Lapidary Gallery
  • the Borgia Apartment
  • the Gallery of the Candelabra
  • the Stanze di Raffaello, four rooms so called because they were frescoed by the great painter Raffaello Sanzio. The four rooms are the Stanza dell'Incendio, the Stanza della Segnatura, the Stanza di Eliodoro and the Sala di Costantino
  • the Niccolina Chapel, located near the Stanze di Raffaello
  • and the famous Sistine Chapel

  • Other websites S.r.l.
    P. IVA: 14810651001
    All rights reserved
    Cookie policy
    Privacy policy